# CHICAGO CONTRACT BRIDGE ASSOCIATION MINUTES DECEMBER 19, 2023

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 pm by President Loring Knoblauch. Present and constituting a quorum were:

Bill Anspach	Betsy Downs	Bob Maxson	Mark
Phyllis Bartlett	Guy Franklin	Missy Ravid	Joe S
Jan Churchwell	Steve McConnell	Jamie Rubenstein	Suzi S
Joe Connelly			

Mark Stein\* Joe Stokes 1 Suzi Subeck\*

\*Via Zoom.

## Also present: Steve Donahue, Kathy Fortney\*, David Joyce.

## PRESIDENT'S REPORT (Loring Knoblauch)

President Knoblauch introduced Steve Donahue and Kathy Fortney who will join the Board in January. He also asked about locations for 2024 meetings. The Board agreed that meeting at GVC works well because its equipment (including a Meeting Owl) enables Zoom hybrid meetings.

Steve McConnell moved that the CCBA pay for food at meetings. Motion passed unanimously.

## **MINUTES (Jan Churchwell)**

Joe Stokes moved to accept the Minutes of the meeting of August 3 as corrected. He also moved to accept the Minutes of the meeting of October 19. Both motions passed unanimously.

## TREASURER'S REPORT (Joe Connelly)

Discussion of report format in future. Balances, including summary of activity, will be presented. Steve Donahue suggested that investing funds in short-term T-Bills could give the CCBA additional ROI and still leave cash on hand for current needs. This would be in addition to the funds currently invested in CD's.

Suzi Subeck said the Finance Committee should receive budgets for Tournaments and any extra events.

### **BY-LAWS REVISIONS (Bill Anspach)**

Summary of major revisions:

1. Following statutory language, the date of the Annual Meeting will not be restricted to January;

2. The Resignation and Removal Policy (as revised) will be move from the Policy Manual to the By-laws. It will apply to "serious infractions" only;

3. The Arbitration Policy will be revised. Issues will be referred to the IBA (Institute for Bridge Arbitration) by mutual consent. Absent mutual consent, issues will be referred to the AAA (American Arbitration Association).

4. Set a maximum on expenditures without Board approval.

Proxies are not allowed at the Annual Meeting. Jan Churchwell moved to approve all updates and prepare them for approval by the general membership at the Annual Meeting on January 19, 2024. President Knoblauch will present the revisions at that time.

### **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

### Nominating (Bob Maxson):

Officer slate for 2024:

President: Loring Knoblauch

Vice President:	Bob Maxson
Secretary:	Jan Churchwell
Treasurer;	Joe Connelly
	Missy Ravid

Bob Maxson will not be at the Annual Meeting; Steve McConnell will manage the Election of Officers (this is in accordance with the Election Policy which states that a candidate for office may not run the election).

Joe Connelly and Missy Ravid stated their qualifications and reasons for running for Treasurer.

**Website** (**Betsy Downs**): Kathy Fortney will take over as Webmaster; Sarik Goyal will help with the transition. Discussion about content followed.

**Education/IN (Guy Franklin)**: Guy Franklin would like to hold an I/N Tournament in May, 2025 that would include both Sectionally rated (Silver Point) and Gold Rush games. He also proposed a "mid-level" tournament for players with more than 750 MP's but fewer than 2000.

**Tournament Oversight (Jan Churchwell)**: David Joyce reported that the Labor Day Tournament will return to the Weber Center in Skokie in 2024. Dates are Saturday, August 31-Monday, September 2. Bill Anspach reviewed the contract at the table, President Knoblauch signed it, and Treasurer Connelly cut a check for the deposit.

Assuming negotiations continue smoothly, the Windy City Regional will take place at the White Eagle Conference Center (Milwaukee Ave., Niles) from Thursday, June 27-Sunday June 30.

**<u>2024 Committees</u>**: Jan Churchwell sent around a sign-up sheet. President Knoblauch will select Chairs and staff the committees.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

Betsy Downs moved to rescind the motion to rename the Harmon Wilkes Award in honor of Stan Subeck. Jan Churchwell suggested that the Central States Regional be permanently renamed the Stan Subeck Regional. Missy Ravid moved. Both motions passed unanimously.

President Knoblauch appointed Bob Maxson and Steve McConnell to fill the CCBA's vacant seats on the District 13 Board.

The Board adjourned to Executive Session. Besides selecting CCBA Award winners for 2023, the Board voted unanimously to give Kibitzer Editor DeMaris Johnson a \$50/per issue raise effective immediately.

Next Meeting TBA.

Respectfully submitted,

Jan Churchwell Secretary

#### **RECAP OF MOTIONS**

Steve McConnell moved that the CCBA pay for refreshments served at meetings held at GVC. Motion passed unanimously.

Joe Stokes moved to accept the corrected Minutes of the meeting of August 3 and the Minutes of the October 19 meeting. Both motions passed unanimously.

Jan Churchwell moved to accept the updates to the By-laws. Motion passed unanimously.

Betsy Downs moved to rescind the motion renaming the Harmon Wilkes Award in honor of Stan Subeck. Motion passed unanimously.

Missy Ravid moved to rename the Central States Regional in honor of Stan Subeck permanently. Motion passed unanimously.

Board approved slate of Officers for 2024-2027 (including 2 candidates for the Treasurer's position).

**Executive Session:** 

The Board approved presenting the Harmon Wilkes Award to Dan Zagorin, the Gran Sportsmanship Award to John Vincent, and the Service Award to Jim Diebel.

The Board approved an increase of \$50/issue to Kibitzer Editor DeMaris Johnson.